Generic Breakfast Egg Sandwiches

This is another amazing idea I found on Pinterest. If you haven’t been on there, be careful. It’s addictive. If you ever wanted to make your own McMuffins generic breakfast egg sandwiches this is the perfect recipe.

Spray some baking spray into a muffin tin, and crack an egg into each muffin cup (or however many you want to make). Bake it at 350 for 15-20 minutes. These bad boys pop out looking just like this:

Well, I semi-scrambled mine. On hers the yolks were intact. These are the perfect size to fit on a mini bagel, with a little cheese!

The author of the recipe was pre-assembling whole sandwiches, wrapping them individually and freezing them for fast breakfasts during the week. She used english muffins also, but the eggs fit better on mini-bagels.

Here are my ideas (as yet untried) for variations that could be mixed into the raw eggs before baking: chunky salsa, cheese, diced onion, spinach and romano cheese, bacon or sausage bits, chorizo or soy-rizo, and sauteed mushrooms and onions. I would mix in ingredients that have low water content, so things don’t get mushy, but it seems like having it mixed in would make these so much easier to reheat.

She recommends reheating in the oven, but if you keep the bun separate from the egg, that’s not necessary. I just toast my bagel and microwave my egg for about 30 seconds on 50% power, or else exploding happens and I get teased.

December 17, 2011. Tags: , , , , , , , . Cooking.

2 Comments

  1. Mini Frittatas « My Attempts at Cleverness replied:

    […] I’ve already posted this recipe, but I’m trying something new with it I thought was cool. In the original recipe, you simply […]

  2. More Breakfast Ideas « My Attempts at Cleverness replied:

    […] and healthy. Eggs fit these criteria, but I honestly don’t like eggs much. I’ve tried a few different ways to dress them up, and here’s another […]

Leave a comment

Trackback URI