Plastic Bottle Reuse

Once again, I got an idea off Pinterest. Here’s the original idea:

Simply take an empty plastic bottle, cut it like so, and you can hang your device on the wall while it’s charging. That’s a good reuse, but having my cell phone down near floor-level is not very useful to me.

I do, however, have some wires that need to be wrangled, Christmas lights in fact. Some of you know that Hubby and I have decked the interior of our house out in Christmas lights year round, as seen in a few of the pictures in the pirate decoration post. This enables us to make an instant party whenever we want, and makes us the coolest house on the block. In one spot, the lights have to be plugged in through our bedroom doorway, so when they aren’t plugged in they create a horrific tripping hazard. Who has two thumbs and is accident prone? This guy, so I needed to remedy this situation. You will need:

An empty, washed out shampoo or other bottle, and a utility or x-acto knife. In the example above, they decorated their container with scrapbook paper and mod podge, so feel free to go that extra step if the urge takes you. I did not. Cut the top off the bottle.

Once the top was cut off, I ran it through the dishwasher to clean out any remaining shampoo. I then drilled a tiny hole with the x-acto knife.

I crammed the lights inside, and hung it on the wall with a thumb tack.

I didn’t take a picture of the before, because I would have had to vacuum, and in order to vacuum, I had to get the lights off the floor, etc. It’s just a vicious cycle. I “crafted” this light-holder-object in about 5 minutes (not including the run through the dishwasher), and it is so nice not to trip on those stupid lights anymore. Next time I trip I’ll have only my drunkenness to blame.

 

March 15, 2012. Tags: , , , . Arts and Crafts.

2 Comments

  1. TextileRanger replied:

    Great idea! I can’t believe you risked using the craft knife so soon after your last mishap with a knife, though!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI