Dog Toy Repair

Our corgi, Flapjack, has been a bit neglected since my son, Nacho, was born. Neglected as in “no longer receiving endless attention”. To remedy this, his Aunt Lis brought him a new toy! Star Wars themed, no less! Unfortunately, Boba Fett is strong enough to withstand the Great Pit of Carkoon, but not the Mighty Jaws of Corgi. But Flapjack still loved his busted bounty hunter, even bringing him up to bed each night. I had to perform some armor repair.

DSCN8509

You can see I very crudely wrapped denim around the torso, and sewed it shut. The denim is way tougher than the initial material, and has not lost a single thread yet. So maybe Boba Fett seems to be wearing a bath towel…and one arm is still attached a bit tenuously. Flapjack is happy, and Boba’s guts are protected.

DSCN8511
I basically wrapped the fabric around, tucked the raw edges under, and whip stitched the whole thing. I mean, this is going in my dog’s mouth. I love him, but not enough to hand him a work of art.

DSCN8512 DSCN8513 DSCN8514 DSCN8516

See? He doesn’t care. He’s just happy to have Boba back where he belongs: begging for mercy from a giant beast.

September 24, 2014. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Arts and Crafts, Nerd Stuff, Thriftiness is Cool.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI